Co-op Foundation

Helping disadvantaged communities through co-operative values and practices.

The Co-operative Foundation is a charity set up and supported by Co-op. It helps disadvantaged communities to overcome their challenges by putting co-operative values into practice.

Board of Trustees

The six trustees are appointed by Co-op; two Co-op colleagues, two representatives from the members’ council, and two who have been recruited externally for their charity sector expertise.

Jamie Ward-Smith (Chair)
Saleem Chowdhery
Dan Crowe
Sheila Jane Malley
Andy Phelps
Martin Rogers

More information, including recent annual reports and accounts, can be found on our Charity Commission page.

Our 2017-19 strategy

The Foundation has 3 priorities for the next 3 years to:

  • champion young people’s ability to contribute positively to their communities and help strengthen their sense of belonging

  • invest in disadvantaged communities’ capacity to overcome social, economic or environmental challenges

  • build our reputation as a trusted charity with a co-operative difference, uniting with others to make sustainable impact in communities